“Beautiful Sin”

"Beautiful Sin"

I was born and raised Catholic. I grew up memorizing the 10 commandments, reciting rosaries and going to confession for fear of burning in hell.

The Catholic Church and I have a “love-hate relationship.” I struggle to stay awake at Sunday Masses, and yet, I was the organist for our parish for over 10 years. I question the relevance of religious rituals, and yet, as a kid, I looked forward to Simbang Gabi (Dawn Christmas Masses), Bisita Iglesia (Stations of the Cross) and Fiestas (religious festivals).

My biggest resentment of the church came when I heard a Catholic priest make homophobic remarks at the pulpit during one of his sermons. That’s when I slowly, but consciously, broke away from my Catholic “family.” For how could I be anywhere where I was not welcome?

My sexual orientation and lifestyle have always been at odds with my strict Catholic upbringing. It was a source of deep internal and personal conflict. It was only a few years ago when a Jesuit priest, and very good friend of mine, bridged the gap. He said, “The church may not be gay-friendly, but God is.”

Since then, I’ve made peace with myself and my God. Haven’t made it back to Church though, but that’s another story.

About Curly Tail Pictures
Angelina Cantada: Photographer. Filmmaker. Writer. Dog Walker.

Leave a Reply

