Catch of a Lifetime (part 1)

Fishing on the Kona Coast of the "The Big Island"

January 8, 2011. 6:30am at the Honokohau Harbor in Kona, Hawai’i.

Mable and I were a few minutes early. We waited for the Captain of the fishing boat we chartered from a company called Bite Me. His name was Chad, Captain Chad Contessa. He was impressed that we were there early, not a very common trait among visiting tourists. He said it was a good sign. It meant we actually wanted to go fishing.

The first thing he asked was, “Did you bring your luck?” He said fishing was all about luck. Mable and I smiled, nodded and said, “Sure!” I didn’t tell him that I’ve been anxious about this fishing trip for days. I have this thing with moving transportation. It’s called motion sickness. I’ve had it since I was a kid. It didn’t matter if I were in a car, a train, an airplane or a boat. Some cases were more severe than others. But me and moving vehicles don’t get along. Mable got me some Gravol (the number one Mom-trusted antinauseant) for this trip and I trusted this would keep me from getting sea sick and totally miserable on board.

The next thing the Captain asked was, “Do you have any bananas?” Huh? What do bananas have to do with anything? Apparently, bananas are bad luck on fishing boats. They scare the fish away. Who knew? It just so happened that we did pack some bananas for the trip. The Captain made very clear our two options: (1) eat the bananas now or (2) leave them at the harbor. Goodbye bananas.

About half mile off shore, our deckhand Danny cast the fishing lines, 5 in total, into the open water. Each one had a lure (which looked like a neon-colored toy octopus) for bait. Once all 5 lines were set out, Danny gave Mable and me a brief orientation. Fishing 101, if you will.

Danny said once we hear any one of the fishing lines reeling, the sound of which is something like tik-tik-tik-tik-tik, it means we have a live one running. That meant someone (in this case, either Mable or myself) would have to get strapped onto the angler’s chair and start reeling. Danny went over the proper fishing technique. Given that this was my very first fishing expedition, I found this instruction to be quite interesting and educational. However, knowing the odds of my actually using any of these new skills, I must admit, I was only half listening.

*continued in Catch of a Lifetime (part 2)*

Getting comfortable in the angler's chair

My partner, Mable Elmore, before things start rocking.

About Curly Tail Pictures
Angelina Cantada: Photographer. Filmmaker. Writer. Dog Walker.

8 Responses to Catch of a Lifetime (part 1)

  1. Narcy says:

    Good for you Guys, what a wonderful experienced, I wish we are there too.
    Driving boat in the water is my dream. Thanks for sharing it. By the way, did u catched good fish?

  2. Javier says:

    Wow Angelina…at first I thought “oh how sweet, a fishing trip.” And then, like the fish, I got hooked by your story…and as I kept clicking on the next page I wondered “wow this is getting better..” and when I reached page four I was saying “no waaaay!” and laughing out loud, with my jaw wide open! Hahaha wow what an unbelievable experience Angelina and Mable!! (and what a storyteller you are dear!!!) 😀

  3. peggy HOLLAND (Jim's sister ) says:

    Sounds like a great beginning to your story but i was not sure how to get into Part 2 . I am not very au fait with UTube features .
    Hope that you are both well
    Best wishes Peggy

    • Hi Peggy,

      There are links on the right side of the page under “Recent Posts.” Just click on the link (e.g. Catch of a Lifetime (part 2), etc.) and it will take you to that page.

      Thanks for checking out my blog and taking the time to read about our adventures. 😉

      Take care,
      Angelina

  4. Lola says:

    Chad n his dad caught a 921 on may 6th 2012

Leave a Reply

